Download PDF

MSC (Marine Stewardship Council) CERTIFICATION

Certify your sustainable fishing products

Business Challenge

Seafood consumption is rising worldwide and the degradation of fish stocks continues (overexploited resources, environmental damage, climate change, etc.).

In this context, consumers, retailers, restaurants and processors are now seeking “sustainable seafood”.


What is the MSC?

The MSC is an independent non-profit organization founded in 1997 with the aim of transforming the seafood market to a sustainable basis by:

- reversing the decline in global fish stocks
- delivering improvements in the marine environment
- contributing to securing fishers’ livelihood.

The MSC has developed 2 standards: one for fishery assessments and the second for chain of custody (traceability) in the supply chain. This “Business to Consumer” standard allows placement of an MSC logo on products, visible by consumers.

For the fishery assessment, Bureau Veritas certifies that it is operated in the following manner:

- with respect to the targeted stock
- with respect to the associated ecosystem
- with an efficient fishery management system

For the Chain of Custody assessment, Bureau Veritas certifies that processors, exporters, importers and distributors have sourced their seafood products from MSC certified fisheries.

What are the key benefits?

- The MSC is an objective solution which allows you to define your fishing product policy.
- The MSC logo is recognized by consumers in the EU, Japan and US markets and is a key strategy to differentiate your products from competitors.
- Increases consumer and stakeholder confidence.

Why Choose Bureau Veritas

Seafood Expertise - Bureau Veritas assists in every step of the seafood supply chain to ensure the highest standards are met along with Quality, Health & Safety, Environmental and Social Responsibility compliance. Major retailers have chosen Bureau Veritas for its seafood supply chain expertise and ship owners and food processing plants benefit from the complete selection of marine services.

Network - With a presence in over 140 countries worldwide, Bureau Veritas offers both international expertise and in-depth knowledge of local standards.

Mark of global recognition - The “Bureau Veritas” mark is a widely recognized symbol of your organization’s ongoing commitment to excellence, sustainability and reliability


  • What is a fishing eco-label?

    The FAO* Guideline for the ecolabelling of fish and fishery products from marine capture fisheries defines three processes: standardization, accreditation and certification are the minimum technical content of the standard.
    A fishing eco-label is a “B to C” certification visible by consumers on the final product. MSC sustainable seafood products are identified with an MSC logo which indicates the product comes from a certified MSC fishery. This means the supply chain from the fishing vessel to the final consumer retailer is certified (“Chain of Custody” certification).

    *FAO:The Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations

  • If I am a processor, how may I obtain a “fishing eco-label” on my products?

    In order to become MSC certified, your industry must comply with the MSC Chain of Custody standard by an accredited certification body such as Bureau Veritas in order to show your seafood products can be traced from MSC certified fisheries. The list of certified fisheries is available on the website


Bureau Veritas

+86 21 6886 0643

Send an e-mail

Click here
  • Algeria
  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahamas
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Barbados
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Benin
  • Bermuda
  • Bolivia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Burkina-Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Canada
  • Cape Verde Islands
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Chile
  • China (Peoples' Republic of)
  • Colombia
  • Congo
  • Congo (Democratic Republic of the)
  • Costa Rica
  • Cote d'Ivoire
  • Croatia
  • Cuba
  • Curacao
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Djibouti
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Estonia
  • Ethiopia
  • Fidji
  • Finland
  • France
  • French West Indies
  • Gabon
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Ghana
  • Gibraltar
  • Greece
  • Greenland
  • Guatemala
  • Guinea
  • Guinea Bissau
  • Honduras
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iraq
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kenya
  • Korea (South)
  • Kuwait
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Mali
  • Malta
  • Mauritania
  • Mexico
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Namibia
  • Netherlands
  • Netherlands Antilles
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Puerto Rico
  • Qatar
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Rwanda
  • Saint- Pierre & Miquelon
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Somalia
  • South Africa (Rep.)
  • Spain
  • Sri Lanka
  • Suriname
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Syria
  • Taiwan
  • Tanzania (United Republic of)
  • Thailand
  • Togo
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • Uganda
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America
  • Uruguay
  • Uzbekistan
  • Venezuela
  • Vietnam
  • Yemen
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe
  • Other Websites
  • Africa
  • Middle East
  • South East Asia
Choose your industry, asset and / or service need
Your Industry

Your Asset

Our Services